New Provost & Dean Named

Cary, NC—Shepherds Theological Seminary is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Tim M. Sigler (PhD, Trinity International University, Deerfield, IL) as its new Provost and Dean (CEO) beginning July 1, 2018.

Dr. Sigler has served with distinction at the Moody Bible Institute (Chicago, IL) since 2000, where he is currently Professor of Hebrew and Biblical Studies. He maintains an active international presence writing and lecturing as the Israel Scholar-in-Residence with CJF Ministries and hosting study tours throughout the biblical world. Grace College and Seminary (Winona Lake, IN) awarded Dr. Sigler a full-ride scholarship to enter their M.S. in Higher Education program, a degree which he will complete this summer. He holds the B.A., M.A. in Theological Studies, and M.Div. degrees from Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological Seminary (Ankeny, IA).

Seminary President Stephen Davey expressed his gratitude for answered prayer: “We’ve been praying for just the right leader to guide our seminary through these exciting days of growth and development; someone who combines a pastor’s love for the church with a scholar’s grasp of Scripture. It was soon very clear to us that God had led us to just the right man!“ The STS Board of Trustees approved the appointment with an enthusiastic, unanimous vote. The Provost is responsible for all aspects of administration, development, and the overall supervision of the faculty, staff, and academic programs.

Sigler said, “I am excited to serve with such a dedicated team and to advance the Shepherds vision of producing a generation of servant leaders who are equipped for effective ministry within their local church, and to prepare those who will serve vocationally as pastors, teachers, global workers, educators and ministry leaders.” He will replace Provost and Dean Dr. Larry Pettegrew, who has faithfully led the seminary since 2007, and will continue to serve on the STS faculty.

Shepherds Theological Seminary was founded in 2002 and is accredited by the Association of Theological Schools.