The greatest asset of a theological seminary is not measured by its beautiful buildings but by the quality of its faculty. The STS faculty is committed to sound scholarship and absolute loyalty to God’s inerrant and infallible Word. The faculty’s goal is to embrace a biblical balance for life and ministry in the subjects being taught. Those who teach will also model these principles in and out of the classroom. Faculty members have earned academic degrees and many years of ministry experience. We believe equipping servant leaders is best accomplished by servant leaders who themselves combine biblical scholarship with actual experience in the work of the ministry.

Executive Administration

Stephen D. Davey, President
B.A., M.Div, STM, D.D.
Larry D. Pettegrew, Provost and Dean of the Seminary
B.A., M.R.E., M.Div, Th.M., Th.D.
Edward Herrelko, Chief Academic Officer & Vice-President of Academic Affairs
B.A., M.A., M.Div., Ph.D.
Alan Potter, Vice-President of Advancement
B.A., M.Div., D.D.

Resident Faculty

William W. Barber, Professor of Practical Theology
B.A., M.Div., D.Min., D.D.
Douglas D. Bookman, Professor of Old Testament and Bible Exposition
B.A., M.Div., Th.M., Ph.D.
David L. Burggraff, Professor of Systematic Theology
B.Ch.E., M.Div., Th.M., D.D., Ph.D.
William G. Coberly, Assistant Professor of Bible Exposition
B.S., M.Div., Th.M., M.L.S., Ph.D.
Stephen D. Davey, Professor of Practical Theology
B.A., M.Div, S.T.M, D.D.
Edward Herrelko, Assistant Professor of New Testament
B.A., M.A., M.Div., Ph.D. Candidate
Larry D. Pettegrew, Professor of Theology
B.A., M.R.E., M.Div, Th.M., Th.D.
W. Andrew Smith, Associate Professor of New Testament and Early Christianity
B.S., M.A., M.A., Ph.D.
Emeritus Faculty
John Millheim, Founding Dean
Distinguished Professor of Church History, Emeritus

Diploma—Philadelphia Biblical University
B.A.—Houghton College
M.Div.—Faith Theological Seminary
Th.M.—Princeton Theological Seminary
D.Min.—Faith Theological Seminary
Th.D.—Faith Theological Seminary
D.D.—Evangelical Methodist College
Litt.D.—Bharat Bible College
Ph.D.—Hindustan Bible College
D.R.E.—American Theological Seminary
Post Doctoral Studies, Drew University
Samuel C. Winchester
B.S., M.A., M.A., Ph.D.
Samuel Winchester, Professor Emeritus of Creation Science
B.S.ChE.—North Carolina State University
B.S.Eng. Math.—North Carolina State University
M.A.—Shepherds Theological Seminary
M.A.—Princeton University
Ph.D.—Princeton University
Klopman Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Technology Management, North Carolina State University
R&D Laboratory Director Emeritus, E. I. DuPont
Charles Ryrie, Founding Dean
Distinguished professor of Historical Theology, Emeritus
A.B.—Haverford College
Th.M.—Dallas Theological Seminary
Th.D.—Dallas Theological Seminary
Ph.D.—University of Edinburgh
Litt.D.—Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary
Distinguished Professor of Theology, Criswell College
Professor Emeritus, Dallas Theological Seminary

Adjunct Faculty

Thomas Baber
Pastoral Theology—Texas Teaching Site
B.S.—Texas A&M University
M.S.—Texas A&M University
M.Div.—The Masters Seminary
D.Min. Candidate—Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
Andy Burggraff
Pastoral Theology—Education
B.A.—Maranatha Baptist Bible College
M.Div—Calvary Baptist Theological Seminary
Ed.D—Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Gary Hallquist
Pastoral Theology—Worship Ministry
B.M.E.—Oral Roberts University
M.M.—University of North Texas
M.A.T.S.—Beeson Divinity School
D.W.S.—Institute for Worship Studies
Carey Hardy
Pastoral Theology—Biblical Counseling
B.S.—University of Houston
M.Div.—The Master’s Seminary
D.Min. Candidate —Reformed Theological Seminary
Jim Juvinal
Pastoral Theology—Biblical Counseling
D.Min.—Westminster Theological Seminary
Jerry Knoblet
Exegetical Theology—Greek
B.S.—Fort Wayne Bible College
M.Div.—Grace Theological Seminary
Th.M.—Denver Baptist Theological Seminary
D.Min.—Luther Rice Seminary
Mark Larson
Historical Theology
Th.M.—Westminster Theological Seminary
Ph.D.—Calvin Theological Seminary
Deborah Martin
Practical Theology—Women’s Mentoring
B.A.—Rutgers University M
M.A.—Shepherds Theological Seminary
M.Div. Candidate—Shepherds Theological Seminary
Paul Martin
Pastoral Theology—Laramie Teaching Site
A.S.—Northern Virginia Community College
B.S.—Pillsbury Baptist Bible College
Patrick Perkins
Pastoral Theology—Atlanta Teaching Site
M.A.—Reformed Theological Seminary
Alan Potter
Pastoral Theology—Church Planting
B.A.—Pillsbury Baptist Bible College
M.Div.—Central Theological Seminary
D.D.—Calvary Baptist Theological Seminary
David Quackenbos
Exegetical Theology—Hebrew
B.S. Duke University, Durham, NC
M.A. History, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
M.A. Old Testament Studies, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
M. Div., Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Ph.D. candidate Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Clayton Schultz
Pastoral Theology—Laramie Teaching Site
B.S.—University of Nebraska
M.A.—Dallas Theological Seminary
D.Min. Candidate—Baptist Bible College and Seminary
Roger Skepple
Pastoral Theology—Atlanta Teaching Site
B.S.—Liberty University
M.A.—Dallas Theological Seminary
M.Div.—The Masters Seminary
Ph.D. Studies—Dallas Theological Seminary
Mark Talbert
Exegetical Theology—Hebrew
Ph.D.—Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Eric Weathers
Pastoral Theology—Texas Teaching Site
B.A.—The Masters Seminary
M.Div.—The Masters Seminary